



Features of the public administration system in the Kyrgyz Republic

Akmataliev Almazbek Rector, professor





According to the CONSTITUTION, which defines the state system, the Kyrgyz Republic is the Parliamentary Republic. Parliament and the Prime Minister have much more power and authority than the President. However, the President, as in the Presidential Republic, is elected by popular vote, which gives him/her the status of a popularly elected official. This confirms the assertion that, in fact, the governance tends to be parliamentary-presidential rather than just parliamentary.

The Kyrgyz Republic President is elected by popular vote for a term of 6 years without the right to re-election for a second term. The same person can not be elected for two consecutive terms. The President for the period of exercising his/her powers cannot be a member of a political party and cannot perform any actions related to the party activities.





THE PRESIDENT:

- has no legislative initiative
- is not a guarantor of the Constitution
- does not directly appoint the Prime Minister and ministers (except for the Defense Minister and the chairman of the National Security State Committee)
- cannot appoint judges without the proposal of the Council for the selection of judges, and judges of the Supreme Court without the approval of the Jogorku Kenesh
- does not appoint heads of regional administrations

HOWEVER







- is responsible for the country's foreign policy

- appoints and dismisses the General Prosecutor and his deputies with the consent of the Jogorku Kenesh

The President and the ex-President may be prosecuted after his removal from office and the end of the presidential term (all decisions are made by the Jogorku Kenesh)

THE PRESIDENT





- The Kyrgyz Republic unicameral parliament the Jogorku Kenesh consists of 120 deputies elected for a five-year term and is formed according to party lists.
- Election-winning party can hope to get only 65 seats.
- A parliamentarian may be elected the Prime Minister or the First Deputy Prime Minister, with the preservation of a deputy mandate and voting right in the parliament.
- Recalling of a parliamentarian is not allowed.

THE JOROGKU KENESH





- Factions have the right to unite in a coalition of a parliamentary majority and a parliamentary minority or a coalition of opposition factions.
- A parliamentary majority is a faction or factions' coalition that has more than half of the parliamentary mandates.
- A faction or factions, which not included in the coalition of the parliamentary majority, constitute a parliamentary minority.

THE JOROGKU KENESH

THE JOROGKU KENESH





- A faction or factions of a parliamentary minority has the right to declare its opposition.
- The parliamentary opposition is the faction, factions or their coalition, which comprise the parliamentary minority and officially announced their opposition at a meeting of the Jogorku Kenesh.
- The opposition heads two significant parliamentary committees as budget issues and defense and law enforcement.
- The toraga (the Speaker of the Parliament) is elected from the parliamentary majority
- Loss of coalition status of parliamentary majority entails resignation of the toraga.

The right of legislative initiative belongs to:

- 10000 voters
- A parliamentarian of the Jogorku Kenesh
 - the Government





- faction or coalition of factions, having the majority of the Jogorku Kenesh, nominates the Prime Minister
- the Prime Minister, no more than twice a year, may raise a question of the Government confidence in the Jogorku Kenesh
- if the majority coalition in the Jogorku Kenesh consists of several factions, ministerial portfolios are divided proportionally between them
- the Prime Minister appoints Government representatives in the regions
- the candidate for the Prime Minister position brings to the Jogorku Kenesh the Program, structure and composition of the Government.

EXECUTIVE POWER





- the judicial system of the Kyrgyz Republic consists of the Kyrgyz Republic Supreme Court and local courts.
- the Constitutional Chamber operates in the composition of the Kyrgyz Republic Supreme Court.
- judicial power is exercised through constitutional, civil, criminal, administrative and other forms of legal proceedings.
- creation of extraordinary courts is not allowed, only existing courts

THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM





- The Supreme Court judges, including the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court, are elected by the Jogorku Kenesh on the proposal of the President, based on a proposal by the Judges Selection Council, taking into account the gender representation of not more than seventy percent of persons of the same gender.
- Judges of the Supreme Court are elected to the age limit established by the Constitution.
- Constitutional Chamber judges of the Supreme Court are are elected for the first time for a period of 7 years, and subsequently until the age limit established by the Constitution is reached.

THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM





THE JUDGES SELECTION COUNCIL

- is formed from judges and representatives of civil society
- includes one third of the Council of Judges, one third of the parliamentary majority, one third of the parliamentary opposition

CONGRESS OF JUDGES

IS THE HIGHEST AUTHORITY OF JUDICIAL SELF-GOVERNMENT





In addition to generally accepted state bodies, the work of which is regulated by the Constitution - the Prosecutor's office, the National Bank, the Central Election Commission, the Accounts Chamber - the parliamentary body is the Akyikatchy (Ombudsman) of the Kyrgyz Republic.

He exercises control over the observance of the rights and freedoms of a citizen of the Kyrgyz Republic

AKYIKATCHY (Ombudsman)





Local self-government is carried out by local communities through the representative and executive bodies of the ayil aimak and the city, as well as through the direct participation of citizens.

The system of local self-government is formed by:

- 1) local keneshes (aiyl and city) representative bodies of local self-government;
- 2) ayil okmotu, city halls executive bodies of local self-government.

LOCAL SELF-GOVERENMENT





- Local keneshes are bodies that shape policies at the local level. This policy is expressed in the fact that local keneshes approve the program for the development of the territory, adopt universally binding acts on the territory, control the activities of other local authorities, etc.
- The operational management of the territory, the solution of daily problems of the territories and their inhabitants is carried out by the executive body of self-government.

LOCAL SELF-GOVERENMENT









THE OFFICIAL CAPITAL – Bishkek

UNOFFICIAL SOTHERN CAPITAL - Osh

LOCAL SELF-GOVERENMENT





- Kurultai of local communities, districts, and regions can be held in order to take into account a wide range of public opinion and the participation of the population in solving the most important issues of life activities organization.
- Issues of socio-economic development of the territory, the formation of the local budget, the use and development of communal property can be submitted to the kurultai.
- The decisions of the kurultai are advisory by nature for the corresponding local kenesh (council) and are considered by the local kenesh and the mayor, the head of the city and the head of the local self-government of the village.
- The norms for the representation of Kurultai delegates, the procedure for its implementation and implementation of the Kurultai's decisions are established by the charter of the local community in accordance with the regulatory legal acts of the Kyrgyz Republic.

KURULTAI







